The 22 major arcana of the tarot

22 major arcana of tarot

The images displayed on the 22 Tarot trumps come from 13th century iconography. The Tarot of Marseille can be seen as a true picture-based lesson on the principles of Christian mysticism further enriched by allegorical additions from astrology and alchemy.
The 22 main trumps or major arcana can be divided into 4 categories.

Three major Arcana of the Tarot of Marseille represent celestial bodies

The Moon, the Sun and the Star represent celestial bodies and refer to the cosmic forces that rule over our destiny.

Eleven major Arcana display various characters

The Pope, the Papess, the Emperor, the Empress, the Mountebank, the Fool, the Devil, the Hanged Man, the Unnamed (Death), the Lovers, and the Hermit display various characters that symbolize the various stages of the human condition.

Three major Arcana materialize the virtues

Strength, Justice, and Temperance materialize the virtues and remind Mankind of the principles that must be followed to be successful in life.

Five major Arcana of the Tarot of Marseille symbolize out chaotic path on earth

The five last major Arcana (The World, Judgment, the House of God, the Chariot, the Wheel of Fortune) refer to the trials of the world and symbolize our chaotic path on earth.

You may find below, other interesting articles from My Magic Blog:


My birthdate




I have read and agreed to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.